Summary of “Analytics And Statcast Will Play A Role In Determining This Year’s American League MVP”

The votes are in, beginning the waiting game until the middle of November when the Baseball Writers’ Association of America will announce the winner of this year’s American League Most Valuable Player Award.
Since 1931, the BBWAA has been the guardian of the process, and the voting rules have basically remained unchanged since the group selected Philadelphia Athletics pitcher Lefty Grove as its first American League Most Valuable Player.
In total, 66 players representing American League ball clubs have won this award, with 15 multiple-time recipients of the award.
Only three players who have won the American League award have played for teams with losing records: Cal Ripken, Jr., Alex Rodriguez and Mike Trout.
On 21 occasions, the American League’s MVP came from a club that didn’t qualify for postseason play.
Judge’s home runs traveled approximately four miles in total, and Statcast reveals that the average exit velocity on Judge’s home runs this season was 109.9 miles per hour, with the fastest at 121.1 mph.
Is the third rookie in major league history with at least 100 runs, 100 runs batted in and 100 walks, after Williams and Al Rosen.
He is seeking to become the third American League player to win the MVP and Rookie of the Year Awards in the same season, after Fred Lynn and Ichiro Suzuki.

The orginal article.